Don't take chances when it comes to your money. Our team of experts knows the Metro Atlanta market, as well as the nuances in how the process works.
1. Our tax specialists will review your property tax records regarding
Valuation - What is the fair market value in view of the recent real estate decline?
Uniformity - Is the county's valuation uniform and equitable with other similar nearby properties?
2. Prior to April 1, we will prepare a Taxpayer's Return of Real Property
The Taxpayer's Return of Real Property allows us to tell the county tax assessor what we think your property is worth. We submit supporting comparable market data and documentation. If the tax assessor accepts our new value, our work is done and you pay lower taxes. If the assessor rejects, or does not reduce, your value to our satisfaction, we move to the next step, an Appeal of Assessment.
3. Appeal your Property Tax Assessment
Georgia Law requires that all property owners be notified of their property tax assessments annually. Upon receipt of this notification, My Property Tax Appeal has 45 days to file an Appeal of Assessment for the tax year. We file this paperwork with supporting comparable market data and documentation on your behalf. If the tax assessor accepts our new value, our work is done and you pay lower taxes. If the assessor rejects, or does not reduce your value to our satisfaction, we move on to the next step, the Board of Equalization or County Hearing Officer hearing.
4. Board of Equalization - County Hearing Officer
We prepare exhibits and appear on your behalf in front of the Board of Equalization (BOE). The BOE is a panel of county property owners appointed by the grand jury to hear appeals of property values.
Hearing officer cases are for non-homestead exempted properties that are valued at $1 million or more. One of our founders, Larry Singleton, is a Georgia State Hearing Officer, which affords us insight into this process to serve you best. The County Hearing Officer must be either a Georgia State Certified Real Estate Appraiser or a State Certified Residential Appraiser.
We charge a $99 Service Fee for residential properties. This fee covers our market research of comparable sales data, preparation of State forms and presentation exhibits and administrative costs. Compare this to the cost of an appraisal which can exceed $350!
We charge a 30% Contingency Fee of your first years estimated tax savings. This fee is based on the millage rate as of January 1 of the appeal year. You will enjoy the tax savings in years to come, but this fee is based on your year one savings only. The Contingency Fee is calculated by subtracting the final assessment from the current assessment and multiplying the difference by the millage rate(excluding exemptions). Here is an example of the fee calculation: